NJ Hookah Lounge Claims To Be Target Of Unfair Inspections - New York News

NJ Hookah Lounge Claims To Be Target Of Unfair Inspections

Posted: Updated:
Paterson, New Jersey (My9NJ) - Dubai Lounge in Paterson is one of several places where patrons can bring their own beer or wine, order some food and smoke a hookah.

However, lately the club’s been written up a lot by city inspectors siting everything from fire hazards from indoor use of the hookahs, underage smoking, and illegal liquor consumption. Owner Desmond Jahmour acknowledges some wrongdoing, but he says the inspectors are going way overboard.

“And the inspector, what he did, he said ‘Oh, I found the alcohol in a Sprite bottle.’ And this is not from us. I think he put that inside to just make something and he said ‘I’ll send the ticket in the mail.’”

Desmond also says that he’s been threatened by city inspectors who can’t find any violations.

“He didn’t find nothing and he got pissed off. He came to me in the kitchen and said ‘I’m going to f*** you up one day if you keep laughing, I’m a-f*** you up.’ And I wasn’t even laughing. That’s how I am, I have a smile on my face always,” he explained.

Violetta Good is the chief inspector for Paterson Division of Health and she says she’s not aware of any complaints of harassment. She also says she’s very clear to business owners about what they need to do to be in compliance. There have been other inspections from other offices in question however, so it’s unsure which inspector Desmond’s allegations are made against.


Watch Chasing New Jersey weeknights at 10pm on My9 and don’t forget to like us on Facebook!

  • Chasing New JerseyMore>>

  • Exchange Student Rejected By Public H.S. Offered Spot At Top NJ Private School

    Exchange Student Rejected By Public H.S. Offered Spot At Top NJ Private School

    Tuesday, September 16 2014 4:13 PM EDT2014-09-16 20:13:30 GMT
    17-year-old Netherlands resident Thomas Van Uggelen traveled over 4,600 miles by air to attend school in New Jersey, only to get rejected once he arrived in the Garden State. “I didn't expect this at all. I know a few other exchange students and everything was going well with them and then I had all of this,” he said. Van Uggelen planned to leave his home country for a once in a lifetime opportunity to be a public high school student in Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey.
    17-year-old Netherlands resident Thomas Van Uggelen traveled over 4,600 miles by air to attend school in New Jersey, only to get rejected once he arrived in the Garden State. “I didn't expect this at all. I know a few other exchange students and everything was going well with them and then I had all of this,” he said. Van Uggelen planned to leave his home country for a once in a lifetime opportunity to be a public high school student in Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey.
  • Video Surfaces Of Irate Jersey City Staffer Confronting Residents About Litter

    Video Surfaces Of Irate Jersey City Staffer Confronting Residents About Litter

    Tuesday, September 16 2014 12:11 PM EDT2014-09-16 16:11:04 GMT
    A viral video has surfaced that shows Jersey City, City Hall employee Brooke Hansson going on a vulgar rant about litter on the streets. In the video you see Hansson yelling directly at people to clean up their mess. “Tell me what the f*** this is. Clean up your f****** garbage. Self-respect! Do not live in garbage," she screams at people on the street. Hansson reportedly works on Mayor Fulop's “Stop the Drop” anti-litter campaign.
    A viral video has surfaced that shows Jersey City, City Hall employee Brooke Hansson going on a vulgar rant about litter on the streets. In the video you see Hansson yelling directly at people to clean up their mess. “Tell me what the f*** this is. Clean up your f****** garbage. Self-respect! Do not live in garbage," she screams at people on the street. Hansson reportedly works on Mayor Fulop's “Stop the Drop” anti-litter campaign.
  • Christmas Craze Coming to NJ Early This Year

    Christmas Craze Coming to NJ Early This Year

    Tuesday, September 16 2014 11:22 AM EDT2014-09-16 15:22:41 GMT
    It's only September, but the big box stores are already putting Christmas trees and apparel out on the shelves and some people say it's just too early for all that stuff!  “I just saw Christmas trees and Christmas decorations and my air conditioner is on at home. So I have no intention of going anywhere near them, I think it's a horrible idea,” one customer said.
    It's only September, but the big box stores are already putting Christmas trees and apparel out on the shelves and some people say it's just too early for all that stuff!  “I just saw Christmas trees and Christmas decorations and my air conditioner is on at home. So I have no intention of going anywhere near them, I think it's a horrible idea,” one customer said.
  • Local NewsLocal NewsMore>>

  • NY grand jury to weigh charges for Tony Stewart

    NY grand jury to weigh charges for Tony Stewart

    Tuesday, September 16 2014 3:43 PM EDT2014-09-16 19:43:05 GMT
    A grand jury will decide whether NASCAR driver Tony Stewart will be charged in the August death of a fellow driver at a sprint car race in upstate New York, a prosecutor said Tuesday. Ontario County District Attorney Michael Tantillo said he made the decision to present the case to a grand jury after reviewing evidence collected by county sheriff's investigators.
    A grand jury will decide whether NASCAR driver Tony Stewart will be charged in the August death of a fellow driver at a sprint car race in upstate New York, a prosecutor said Tuesday. Ontario County District Attorney Michael Tantillo said he made the decision to present the case to a grand jury after reviewing evidence collected by county sheriff's investigators.
  • Boater gets prison for fatal Hudson River crash

    Boater gets prison for fatal Hudson River crash

    Tuesday, September 16 2014 3:18 PM EDT2014-09-16 19:18:53 GMT
    A man who was drunk when he crashed a powerboat into a construction barge, killing a bride-to-be and her fiance's best man, was sentenced Tuesday to two years in jail. The victims' families, who say poor lighting on the barge was the main cause of the collision on the Hudson River, called the sentence "incomplete justice."
    A man who was drunk when he crashed a powerboat into a construction barge, killing a bride-to-be and her fiance's best man, was sentenced Tuesday to two years in jail. The victims' families, who say poor lighting on the barge was the main cause of the collision on the Hudson River, called the sentence "incomplete justice."
  • NY: Wal-Mart levied fake 'sugar tax' on soda

    NY: Wal-Mart levied fake 'sugar tax' on soda

    Tuesday, September 16 2014 2:53 PM EDT2014-09-16 18:53:56 GMT
    New York's attorney general has settled a false advertising investigation at Wal-Mart, saying stores were charging a nonexistent "sugar tax" on soda.
    New York's attorney general has settled a false advertising investigation at Wal-Mart, saying some store personnel were citing a nonexistent "sugar tax" on soda. Investigators say some consumers who complained were falsely told the state has a "sugar tax." They say the markup of more than 16 percent violated state laws.
Powered by WorldNow
Didn't find what you were looking for?
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Fox Television Stations, Inc. and Worldnow. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy | New Terms of Service What's new | Ad Choices