Big Ten tournament bracket set; Ill & NU play Thursday - New York News

Big Ten tournament bracket set; Ill & NU play Thursday

Posted: Updated:

Rosemont, Ill. – Michigan, Wisconsin, MichiganState and Nebraska are the top four seeds in the 2014 Big Ten Men's BasketballTournament, the conference office announced on Sunday night. The 17th annualevent will be contested from March 13-16 at Bankers Life Fieldhouse inIndianapolis.

After winning the outright Big Ten Championship for thefirst time since 1986 with a 15-3 conference record, Michigan is thetournament's top seed and will open play at Noon ET on Friday. Wisconsin andMichigan State finished the year with matching 12-6 marks, but the Badgers'head-to-head win over the Spartans on Feb. 9 gave them the No. 2 seed.Wisconsin opens play at 6:30 p.m. on Friday and earns a first-round bye for the14th straight season, the longest streak in conference history. Michigan Stateis the No. 3 seed and begins tournament play at approximately 9 p.m. on Friday,while Nebraska knocked off the Badgers tonight to earn the No. 4 seed with an11-7 conference record. The Cornhuskers begin postseason play at approximately2:30 p.m. on Friday.

The opening session of the 2014 event begins at Noon onThursday when No. 8 Indiana faces No. 9 Illinois and No. 5 Ohio State takes onNo. 12 Purdue, with both games airing on BTN. Thursday's second sessioncommences at 6:30 p.m. on ESPN2 when No. 7 Minnesota squares off against No. 10Penn State and No. 6 Iowa takes on No. 11 Northwestern. Indiana and Illinoiseach finished with 7-11 conference marks, but the Hoosiers' win over Michiganon Feb. 2 secured the higher seed. Penn State and Northwestern completed BigTen play at 6-12, but the Nittany Lions' head-to-head victory over the Wildcatson March 6 gave Penn State the tiebreaker.

Friday's sessions also begin at Noon and 6:30 p.m., withthe afternoon contests televised by ESPN or ESPN2, while the evening games willbe carried by BTN. No. 1 Michigan takes on the Indiana-Illinois winner at Noonand No. 4 Nebraska takes on the winner of Ohio State and Purdue. No. 2Wisconsin faces the Minnesota-Penn State victor, while No. 3 Michigan Statewill play the winner of Iowa-Northwestern.

Big Ten Tournament semifinal games will be played onSaturday, beginning at 1:40 p.m. ET on CBS Sports. The championship game tipsoff at 3:30 p.m. ET on Sunday and will also be broadcast by CBS Sports.

Six different programs have won the Big Ten Tournament.Ohio State has claimed four official titles, including three of the last fouryears. Michigan State has won the tournament on three occasions, including thelast time the event was held in Indianapolis in 2012. Illinois, Iowa andWisconsin have each won the championship twice, and Purdue has won thetournament once.

 For the second straight year, the Big Ten Men'sBasketball Tournament is sold out, but fans can still reserve a face-value,premium ticket to the Big Ten Tournament Championship Game through the TeamTixreservation system at


Follow Us!

Share Your Sports Photos & Video

Submit Your Sports Photos
Powered by WorldNow
Didn't find what you were looking for?
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Fox Television Stations, Inc. and Worldnow. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy | New Terms of Service What's new | Ad Choices