Presidential scholars include suburban Ill. teens - New York News

Presidential scholars include suburban Ill. teens

Posted: Updated:
CHICAGO (Associated Press) -

Three Illinois students are among the 141 high school students who've been named U.S. Presidential Scholars.

U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan announced Wednesday that Scott Daniel in Oak Park, Vivian Wang in Lincolnshire and Adam Erickson in Wheaton will be honored in Washington, D.C., in June. Each winner receives a Presidential Scholar Medallion.

Students are chosen annually by the White House Commission on Presidential Scholars based on their academic record, essays, community service and test scores. More than 3,300 candidates qualified for the awards.

The program has honored more than 6,000 students since it was created in 1964. The program was expanded in 1979 to include students who demonstrate talent in the arts.

Duncan says the scholars demonstrate the capacity for greatness among the nation's young people.

Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Follow Us!

Share Your Photos & Video

Powered by WorldNow
Didn't find what you were looking for?
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Fox Television Stations, Inc. and Worldnow. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy | New Terms of Service What's new | Ad Choices