Dillon ready to bring in financial review team for Wayne County? - New York News

Dillon ready to bring in financial review team for Wayne County?

Posted: Updated:
DETROIT (WJBK) -

In an exclusive one-on-one interview, Fox 2's Charlie LeDuff talked with state Treasurer Andy Dillon about Wayne County's finances and asked if a financial review team will be brought in.

"Not yet," said Dillon.

"I met with the county last week," he continued. "You saw that shortfall estimated $25 million to $40 million, right, structural deficit? But it's a little bit worse than that because they have an accumulated deficit about $160 (million) which has to be paid down within five years, so that number's even bigger."

"I'd rather let them try to fix it themselves," he added. "We don't want to have state involvement unless it's absolutely necessary. So, if the county can come up with the solution, I'll support it and I would not recommend to the governor that we begin the review of Wayne County."

In addition to Wayne County's finances, Dillon spent a lot of time during the interview talking about Detroit. Here are some of the highlights.

LeDuff said the perception is that Bing is a puppet and Dillon is pulling all the strings. His response?

"We don't go in and say, look at, do X, Y and Z. We just want to see their plan that we think can get the city to balance."

What is Detroit's projected shortfall for this quarter?

"The range we're hearing is $20 million to $25 million maybe."

"A lot of the employment terms, they were reached in July and then... because the city's payroll system is so broke, it takes a matter of weeks to actually have them take effect, and then you might recall there was the temporary restraining order from the court that delayed it even further," he added. "So the actual date that savings was implemented remains a little bit of a mystery to me, but I think it has taken effect now."

LeDuff also asked Dillon to describe Detroit's politicians.

"If you didn't live in the city, you'd say it's tremendously broken, but my one-on-ones with most of the council members are pretty good. I think they all want to do the right thing. I think we can improve the lines of communication between the mayor's office and the council. I think that would go a long way. The mayor really cares. He's an honest guy. He's got a monster on his hands here. This is probably the most challenging turnaround in the country."

LeDuff also asked Dillon what it's like to be called the "white devil".

"I'm used to that and I think it's the vocal minority. I mean, I feel and the governor feels we have a responsibility to the citizens that are not being heard, and it's the mother that's worried about can her child get to school safely, that they're walking home in the dark because there (are) no lights. There's no bus to pick their kid up. I mean, that is who we're fighting for and I'll take that fight every day."

Dillon even called out one of Mayor Dave Bing's appointees.

"On demolition, we've had some hiccups there. The state has allocated $10 million to do demolition in the city and we're struggling to get through the city's process and system to do that. So, it's one of my high priorities saying to Kriss Andrews, 'Hey, Kriss, Look you've got to get this to council. You've got to streamline this process so we can help you with the demolition.' So, there's a lot of procedural issues."

What did Andrews say?

"He's trying to work it out with council and with the Planning Department to break through that."

Can't he just do it?

"That's what I said. I said go and lose the vote, I don't care. At least we know where the problem is."

Click on the video player above to watch the interview in its entirety.

  • Charlie LeDuffCharlie LeDuffMore>>

  • The Americans with Charlie LeDuff: A righteous voice from the Ferguson chaos

    The Americans with Charlie LeDuff: A righteous voice from the Ferguson chaos

    Wednesday, August 20 2014 9:21 PM EDT2014-08-21 01:21:50 GMT
    Charlie heads to the frontlines of Ferguson and finds a voice of reason and bravery against impossible odds.
    Charlie heads to the frontlines of Ferguson and finds a voice of reason and bravery against impossible odds.
  • Court: Ex-judge Wade McCree immune from civil suit

    Court: Ex-judge Wade McCree immune from civil suit

    Tuesday, July 22 2014 2:04 PM EDT2014-07-22 18:04:29 GMT
    The infamous selfie taken by Judge Wade mcCree. The infamous selfie taken by Judge Wade mcCree.
    A federal appeals court has upheld a lower court's ruling that a disgraced Detroit judge cannot be sued by a defendant in a child support case he presided over.
    A federal appeals court has upheld a lower court's ruling that a disgraced Detroit judge cannot be sued by a defendant in a child support case he presided over.
  • LeDuff: Where is the respect for the real hosts of the Super Bowl?

    LeDuff: Where is the respect for the real hosts of the Super Bowl?

    Super Bowl XLVIII is in New York.  Well, not exactly.  The Super Bowl's host city is actually East Rutherford, N.J.  Sometimes it's hard to get respect in America if you're not from places like NYC or LA.
    Super Bowl XLVIII is in New York.  Well, not exactly.  The Super Bowl's host city is actually East Rutherford, N.J.  Sometimes it's hard to get respect in America if you're not from places like Los Angeles., Washington, D.C. or New York.  If you live in New Jersey, you're in the shadow of the Big Apple.
  • Local NewsLocal NewsMore>>

  • Congressman's ad includes Soviet medals

    Congressman's ad includes Soviet medals

    Friday, August 22 2014 8:38 AM EDT2014-08-22 12:38:06 GMT
    A New Jersey congressman's office is red-faced after a Facebook ad about veteran benefits that appeared to feature Russian military medals.
    A New Jersey congressman's office is red-faced over a Facebook ad about veteran benefits that featured Soviet military medals. Rep. Scott Garrett's spokeswoman said in an emailed statement that the office was sorry an initial review did not catch the use of the stock photo. Maggie Seidel says the ad was produced by an outside vendor and is no longer running. The ad asked people to like Garrett's page to learn what he's doing to support veterans' benefits.
  • Torture video leads to kidnapping convictions

    Torture video leads to kidnapping convictions

    Friday, August 22 2014 8:00 AM EDT2014-08-22 12:00:26 GMT
    A jury shown the videotaped torture of a kidnapping victim has convicted the two men who held a man captive for 17 hours at a Buffalo home because they thought he was a police informant. Authorities say the two men kidnapped a 25-year-old crack addict they accused of being a snitch. Video from Dawson's cellphone shows a gun being shoved into the victim's mouth and the victim being forced to lick his own blood off the boot of a captor.
    A jury shown the videotaped torture of a kidnapping victim has convicted the two men who held a man captive for 17 hours at a Buffalo home because they thought he was a police informant. Authorities say the two men kidnapped a 25-year-old crack addict they accused of being a snitch. Video from Dawson's cellphone shows a gun being shoved into the victim's mouth and the victim being forced to lick his own blood off the boot of a captor.
  • 17,000 red light camera tickets dismissed

    17,000 red light camera tickets dismissed

    Friday, August 22 2014 7:39 AM EDT2014-08-22 11:39:23 GMT
    A technical glitch in a red light camera operating system means that some 17,000 motorists in New Jersey will not have to pay a fine for running red lights. Computer problems between May 28 and June 30 resulted in motorists not receiving notices of violations. New Jersey law requires that if a ticket hasn't been served within 90 days, it must be dismissed.
    A technical glitch in a red light camera operating system means that some 17,000 motorists in New Jersey will not have to pay a fine for running red lights. Computer problems between May 28 and June 30 resulted in motorists not receiving notices of violations. New Jersey law requires that if a ticket hasn't been served within 90 days, it must be dismissed.
  • Charlie LeDuff: Off The ChainCharlie LeDuff: Off The ChainMore>>

  • Sayonara Bingaling

    Sayonara Bingaling

    Friday, December 13 2013 7:35 PM EST2013-12-14 00:35:18 GMT
    LeDuff: From my perch, I can say Bing was a mayor who preferred to get his nails polished but never dirty.
    LeDuff: From my perch, I can say Bing was a mayor who preferred to get his nails polished but never dirty.
  • LeDuff goes inside massive Detroit Police raid

    LeDuff goes inside massive Detroit Police raid

    Tuesday, December 3 2013 7:57 PM EST2013-12-04 00:57:27 GMT
    On Tuesday, police in Detroit teamed up with Michigan State Police and federal law enforcement officers to conduct a massive raid the size of a city block.
    On Tuesday, police in Detroit teamed up with Michigan State Police and federal law enforcement officers to conduct a massive raid the size of a city block.
  • Is this the crest of dawn in this thing we call a city?

    Is this the crest of dawn in this thing we call a city?

    Friday, November 8 2013 6:12 PM EST2013-11-08 23:12:53 GMT
    LeDuff: Darkness Rules. And then on a corner of a street called Crusade, a case of what should be considered normal becomes the extraordinary:a streetlight gets repaired. And the curtains get pulled back from the iron door.
    LeDuff: Darkness Rules. And then on a corner of a street called Crusade, a case of what should be considered normal becomes the extraordinary: a streetlight gets repaired. And the curtains get pulled back from the iron door.
Powered by WorldNow
Didn't find what you were looking for?
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Fox Television Stations, Inc. and Worldnow. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy | New Terms of Service What's new | Ad Choices