Dillon ready to bring in financial review team for Wayne County? - New York News

Dillon ready to bring in financial review team for Wayne County?

Posted: Updated:
DETROIT (WJBK) -

In an exclusive one-on-one interview, Fox 2's Charlie LeDuff talked with state Treasurer Andy Dillon about Wayne County's finances and asked if a financial review team will be brought in.

"Not yet," said Dillon.

"I met with the county last week," he continued. "You saw that shortfall estimated $25 million to $40 million, right, structural deficit? But it's a little bit worse than that because they have an accumulated deficit about $160 (million) which has to be paid down within five years, so that number's even bigger."

"I'd rather let them try to fix it themselves," he added. "We don't want to have state involvement unless it's absolutely necessary. So, if the county can come up with the solution, I'll support it and I would not recommend to the governor that we begin the review of Wayne County."

In addition to Wayne County's finances, Dillon spent a lot of time during the interview talking about Detroit. Here are some of the highlights.

LeDuff said the perception is that Bing is a puppet and Dillon is pulling all the strings. His response?

"We don't go in and say, look at, do X, Y and Z. We just want to see their plan that we think can get the city to balance."

What is Detroit's projected shortfall for this quarter?

"The range we're hearing is $20 million to $25 million maybe."

"A lot of the employment terms, they were reached in July and then... because the city's payroll system is so broke, it takes a matter of weeks to actually have them take effect, and then you might recall there was the temporary restraining order from the court that delayed it even further," he added. "So the actual date that savings was implemented remains a little bit of a mystery to me, but I think it has taken effect now."

LeDuff also asked Dillon to describe Detroit's politicians.

"If you didn't live in the city, you'd say it's tremendously broken, but my one-on-ones with most of the council members are pretty good. I think they all want to do the right thing. I think we can improve the lines of communication between the mayor's office and the council. I think that would go a long way. The mayor really cares. He's an honest guy. He's got a monster on his hands here. This is probably the most challenging turnaround in the country."

LeDuff also asked Dillon what it's like to be called the "white devil".

"I'm used to that and I think it's the vocal minority. I mean, I feel and the governor feels we have a responsibility to the citizens that are not being heard, and it's the mother that's worried about can her child get to school safely, that they're walking home in the dark because there (are) no lights. There's no bus to pick their kid up. I mean, that is who we're fighting for and I'll take that fight every day."

Dillon even called out one of Mayor Dave Bing's appointees.

"On demolition, we've had some hiccups there. The state has allocated $10 million to do demolition in the city and we're struggling to get through the city's process and system to do that. So, it's one of my high priorities saying to Kriss Andrews, 'Hey, Kriss, Look you've got to get this to council. You've got to streamline this process so we can help you with the demolition.' So, there's a lot of procedural issues."

What did Andrews say?

"He's trying to work it out with council and with the Planning Department to break through that."

Can't he just do it?

"That's what I said. I said go and lose the vote, I don't care. At least we know where the problem is."

Click on the video player above to watch the interview in its entirety.

  • Charlie LeDuffCharlie LeDuffMore>>

  • Court: Ex-judge Wade McCree immune from civil suit

    Court: Ex-judge Wade McCree immune from civil suit

    Tuesday, July 22 2014 2:04 PM EDT2014-07-22 18:04:29 GMT
    The infamous selfie taken by Judge Wade mcCree. The infamous selfie taken by Judge Wade mcCree.
    A federal appeals court has upheld a lower court's ruling that a disgraced Detroit judge cannot be sued by a defendant in a child support case he presided over.
    A federal appeals court has upheld a lower court's ruling that a disgraced Detroit judge cannot be sued by a defendant in a child support case he presided over.
  • LeDuff: Where is the respect for the real hosts of the Super Bowl?

    LeDuff: Where is the respect for the real hosts of the Super Bowl?

    Super Bowl XLVIII is in New York.  Well, not exactly.  The Super Bowl's host city is actually East Rutherford, N.J.  Sometimes it's hard to get respect in America if you're not from places like NYC or LA.
    Super Bowl XLVIII is in New York.  Well, not exactly.  The Super Bowl's host city is actually East Rutherford, N.J.  Sometimes it's hard to get respect in America if you're not from places like Los Angeles., Washington, D.C. or New York.  If you live in New Jersey, you're in the shadow of the Big Apple.
  • Ground Zero of the North Dakota Oil Boom

    Ground Zero of the North Dakota Oil Boom

    Friday, March 7 2014 12:11 PM EST2014-03-07 17:11:13 GMT
    In another installment of The Americans with Charlie LeDuff, Charlie and his crew head to Williston, North Dakota, where the oil boom is making the small town the epicenter of opportunity and big city problems.
    Tens of thousands of Americans are drifting into places like Williston, North Dakota where the oil boom is making the small town the epicenter of opportunity.

    If you're willing to work 100 hours a week you could make $100,000 in a year.  Along with opportunity there are problems and a changing landscape to small town life that's as harsh as winter on the northern planes.
  • Local NewsLocal NewsMore>>

  • Summit at City Hall on police-community relations

    Summit at City Hall on police-community relations

    Thursday, July 31 2014 11:06 AM EDT2014-07-31 15:06:56 GMT
    Ways to improve the relationship between the NYPD and communities in New York City is at the center of a summit being held on Thursday. Mayor Bill de Blasio, Police Commissioner Bill Bratton, Rev. Al Sharpton, city officials and community leaders are attending the round table. Accusations of police brutality and the death of a man under arrest for selling un-taxed cigarettes on Staten Island prompted the discussion.
    Ways to improve the relationship between the NYPD and communities in New York City is at the center of a summit being held on Thursday. Mayor Bill de Blasio, Police Commissioner Bill Bratton, Rev. Al Sharpton, city officials and community leaders are attending the round table. Accusations of police brutality and the death of a man under arrest for selling un-taxed cigarettes on Staten Island prompted the discussion.
  • Falling debris from Midtown building

    Falling debris from Midtown building

    Thursday, July 31 2014 10:19 AM EDT2014-07-31 14:19:35 GMT

    Emergency personnel are responding to falling debris from a high-rise building in Midtown Manhattan. West 57th St. between 5th and 6th Avenues is closed. SkyFoxHD was overhead where pieces of glass could be seen on the ground and a window shattered. Two people were hit by the falling glass at about 8:45 a.m. and were taken to Roosevelt Hospital with minor injuries, according to police.

    Emergency personnel are responding to falling debris from a high-rise building in Midtown Manhattan. West 57th St. between 5th and 6th Avenues is closed. SkyFoxHD was overhead where pieces of glass could be seen on the ground and a window shattered. Two people were hit by the falling glass at about 8:45 a.m. and were taken to Roosevelt Hospital with minor injuries, according to police.

  • Arrest in attack on teen in elevator

    Arrest in attack on teen in elevator

    Thursday, July 31 2014 9:24 AM EDT2014-07-31 13:24:13 GMT
    Two thugs were caught on security camera footage beating a teenager and stealing from her inside an apartment building in the Midwood section of Brooklyn.  The NYPD says the attackers are seen dragging the 18-year-old out of an elevator into the hallway and punching and kicking her.
    Police have arrested one of two suspects wanted in the brutal attack of a teenager inside her apartment building in the Midwood section of Brooklyn. The thugs were caught on security camera footage beating the 18-year-old at about 9:34 on Sunday night. The attackers are seen dragging the girl out of an elevator into the hallway and punching and kicking her. Tyler Hopping, 18, was arrested on Wednesday.
  • Charlie LeDuff: Off The ChainCharlie LeDuff: Off The ChainMore>>

  • Sayonara Bingaling

    Sayonara Bingaling

    Friday, December 13 2013 7:35 PM EST2013-12-14 00:35:18 GMT
    LeDuff: From my perch, I can say Bing was a mayor who preferred to get his nails polished but never dirty.
    LeDuff: From my perch, I can say Bing was a mayor who preferred to get his nails polished but never dirty.
  • LeDuff goes inside massive Detroit Police raid

    LeDuff goes inside massive Detroit Police raid

    Tuesday, December 3 2013 7:57 PM EST2013-12-04 00:57:27 GMT
    On Tuesday, police in Detroit teamed up with Michigan State Police and federal law enforcement officers to conduct a massive raid the size of a city block.
    On Tuesday, police in Detroit teamed up with Michigan State Police and federal law enforcement officers to conduct a massive raid the size of a city block.
  • Is this the crest of dawn in this thing we call a city?

    Is this the crest of dawn in this thing we call a city?

    Friday, November 8 2013 6:12 PM EST2013-11-08 23:12:53 GMT
    LeDuff: Darkness Rules. And then on a corner of a street called Crusade, a case of what should be considered normal becomes the extraordinary:a streetlight gets repaired. And the curtains get pulled back from the iron door.
    LeDuff: Darkness Rules. And then on a corner of a street called Crusade, a case of what should be considered normal becomes the extraordinary: a streetlight gets repaired. And the curtains get pulled back from the iron door.
  • Local NewsLocal NewsMore>>

  • 24-year-old women is $66 million jackpot winner

    24-year-old women is $66 million jackpot winner

    Thursday, July 31 2014 11:26 AM EDT2014-07-31 15:26:09 GMT
    The Michigan Lottery says a Port Huron woman is the winner of a $66 million Mega Millions jackpot that was drawn in mid-June.Kelsey Zachow says in a statement that she "could barely breathe" when she learned she was the winner.
    The Michigan Lottery says a Port Huron woman is the winner of a $66 million Mega Millions jackpot that was drawn in mid-June.Kelsey Zachow says in a statement that she "could barely breathe" when she learned she was the winner.
  • Winner of $66 Million Mega Millions Jackpot to be Announced

    Winner of $66 Million Mega Millions Jackpot to be Announced

    Thursday, July 31 2014 10:31 AM EDT2014-07-31 14:31:30 GMT
    Michigan Lottery news conference to announce the winner of the $66 million Mega Millions jackpot from Friday, June 13, 2014.
    Michigan Lottery news conference to announce the winner of the $66 million Mega Millions jackpot from Friday, June 13, 2014.
  • City of Detroit posts improvement updates online

    City of Detroit posts improvement updates online

    Thursday, July 31 2014 7:18 AM EDT2014-07-31 11:18:29 GMT
    Residents will be able to view the number of new streetlights installed in their Detroit neighborhood, how many lots were mown and the number of vacant houses demolished by going to the city's website.
    Residents will be able to view the number of new streetlights installed in their Detroit neighborhood, how many lots were mown and the number of vacant houses demolished by going to the city's website.
Powered by WorldNow
Didn't find what you were looking for?
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Fox Television Stations, Inc. and Worldnow. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Ad Choices