Dillon ready to bring in financial review team for Wayne County? - New York News

Dillon ready to bring in financial review team for Wayne County?

Posted: Updated:
DETROIT (WJBK) -

In an exclusive one-on-one interview, Fox 2's Charlie LeDuff talked with state Treasurer Andy Dillon about Wayne County's finances and asked if a financial review team will be brought in.

"Not yet," said Dillon.

"I met with the county last week," he continued. "You saw that shortfall estimated $25 million to $40 million, right, structural deficit? But it's a little bit worse than that because they have an accumulated deficit about $160 (million) which has to be paid down within five years, so that number's even bigger."

"I'd rather let them try to fix it themselves," he added. "We don't want to have state involvement unless it's absolutely necessary. So, if the county can come up with the solution, I'll support it and I would not recommend to the governor that we begin the review of Wayne County."

In addition to Wayne County's finances, Dillon spent a lot of time during the interview talking about Detroit. Here are some of the highlights.

LeDuff said the perception is that Bing is a puppet and Dillon is pulling all the strings. His response?

"We don't go in and say, look at, do X, Y and Z. We just want to see their plan that we think can get the city to balance."

What is Detroit's projected shortfall for this quarter?

"The range we're hearing is $20 million to $25 million maybe."

"A lot of the employment terms, they were reached in July and then... because the city's payroll system is so broke, it takes a matter of weeks to actually have them take effect, and then you might recall there was the temporary restraining order from the court that delayed it even further," he added. "So the actual date that savings was implemented remains a little bit of a mystery to me, but I think it has taken effect now."

LeDuff also asked Dillon to describe Detroit's politicians.

"If you didn't live in the city, you'd say it's tremendously broken, but my one-on-ones with most of the council members are pretty good. I think they all want to do the right thing. I think we can improve the lines of communication between the mayor's office and the council. I think that would go a long way. The mayor really cares. He's an honest guy. He's got a monster on his hands here. This is probably the most challenging turnaround in the country."

LeDuff also asked Dillon what it's like to be called the "white devil".

"I'm used to that and I think it's the vocal minority. I mean, I feel and the governor feels we have a responsibility to the citizens that are not being heard, and it's the mother that's worried about can her child get to school safely, that they're walking home in the dark because there (are) no lights. There's no bus to pick their kid up. I mean, that is who we're fighting for and I'll take that fight every day."

Dillon even called out one of Mayor Dave Bing's appointees.

"On demolition, we've had some hiccups there. The state has allocated $10 million to do demolition in the city and we're struggling to get through the city's process and system to do that. So, it's one of my high priorities saying to Kriss Andrews, 'Hey, Kriss, Look you've got to get this to council. You've got to streamline this process so we can help you with the demolition.' So, there's a lot of procedural issues."

What did Andrews say?

"He's trying to work it out with council and with the Planning Department to break through that."

Can't he just do it?

"That's what I said. I said go and lose the vote, I don't care. At least we know where the problem is."

Click on the video player above to watch the interview in its entirety.

  • Charlie LeDuffCharlie LeDuffMore>>

  • LeDuff: Where is the respect for the real hosts of the Super Bowl?

    LeDuff: Where is the respect for the real hosts of the Super Bowl?

    Super Bowl XLVIII is in New York.  Well, not exactly.  The Super Bowl's host city is actually East Rutherford, N.J.  Sometimes it's hard to get respect in America if you're not from places like NYC or LA.
    Super Bowl XLVIII is in New York.  Well, not exactly.  The Super Bowl's host city is actually East Rutherford, N.J.  Sometimes it's hard to get respect in America if you're not from places like Los Angeles., Washington, D.C. or New York.  If you live in New Jersey, you're in the shadow of the Big Apple.
  • Ground Zero of the North Dakota Oil Boom

    Ground Zero of the North Dakota Oil Boom

    Friday, March 7 2014 12:11 PM EST2014-03-07 17:11:13 GMT
    In another installment of The Americans with Charlie LeDuff, Charlie and his crew head to Williston, North Dakota, where the oil boom is making the small town the epicenter of opportunity and big city problems.
    Tens of thousands of Americans are drifting into places like Williston, North Dakota where the oil boom is making the small town the epicenter of opportunity.

    If you're willing to work 100 hours a week you could make $100,000 in a year.  Along with opportunity there are problems and a changing landscape to small town life that's as harsh as winter on the northern planes.
  • LeDuff: Detroit's bankruptcy is helping police do their jobs

    LeDuff: Detroit's bankruptcy is helping police do their jobs

    Friday, March 7 2014 11:46 AM EST2014-03-07 16:46:27 GMT
    Detroit police are doing better because less money is being paid to creditors and more is being invested in police services. Go on an exclusive ride to see how the fight on crime is getting new support.
    Detroit is a godforsaken place.  Everyone knows that.  Detroit is a mess, no doubt. Here's the thing: some of the factors that put Detroit $18 billion in debt could be factors in your town. Cities all over the country are struggling to pay for health care and retiree pensions. They're seeing revenues from property taxes and sales taxes drop as they try to pay for expensive projects that were approved before the recession.
  • Local NewsLocal NewsMore>>

  • Manhattan restaurant proactive on food allergens

    Manhattan restaurant proactive on food allergens

    Thursday, April 17 2014 10:48 PM EDT2014-04-18 02:48:47 GMT
    From the St. Louis spare to a rack of beef, ribs are the specialty for Chef Eddie Montalvo at Blue Smoke Restaurant in the Flat Iron District of Manhattan. While the ribs are smoked for flavor, they are cooked gluten- and nut-free. The restaurant pays special attention to food allergies. Sloan Miller, president of Allergic Girl Resources, says 15 million Americans have a diagnosed food allergy. Eight foods typically set off reactions: peanuts, tree nuts, fish, shellfish, wheat, dairy, egg, an...
    From the St. Louis spare to a rack of beef, ribs are the specialty for Chef Eddie Montalvo at Blue Smoke Restaurant in the Flat Iron District of Manhattan. While the ribs are smoked for flavor, they are cooked gluten- and nut-free. The restaurant pays special attention to food allergies. Sloan Miller, president of Allergic Girl Resources, says 15 million Americans have a diagnosed food allergy. Eight foods typically set off reactions: peanuts, tree nuts, fish, shellfish, wheat, dairy, egg, an...
  • Wineries flourish in Brooklyn

    Wineries flourish in Brooklyn

    Thursday, April 17 2014 10:34 PM EDT2014-04-18 02:34:04 GMT
    Hundreds of oak barrels of wine are all stacked in one room. You might think this is Napa, California. But it's not. It's the Brooklyn Winery, located in what was once an old pickle factory in Williamsburg. Refrigerated grapes are brought in from the North Fork of Long Island and from the Finger Lakes and then aged in barrels. These days urban wineries are becoming more popular, and they're popping up all over the borough.
    Hundreds of oak barrels of wine are all stacked in one room. You might think this is Napa, California. But it's not. It's the Brooklyn Winery, located in what was once an old pickle factory in Williamsburg. Refrigerated grapes are brought in from the North Fork of Long Island and from the Finger Lakes and then aged in barrels. These days urban wineries are becoming more popular, and they're popping up all over the borough.
  • NYC to overhaul Superstorm Sandy rebuilding program

    NYC to overhaul Superstorm Sandy rebuilding program

    Thursday, April 17 2014 9:30 PM EDT2014-04-18 01:30:41 GMT
    Mayor Bill de Blasio unveiled a sweeping report Thursday that examined New York City's recovery progress from Superstorm Sandy and promised to reform a much-maligned program that was supposed to rebuild wrecked homes. Speaking to about 50 homeowners, officials and community leaders in a storm-battered Staten Island neighborhood, the mayor said the city is aiming to start rebuilding an ambitious 500 homes through its federally funded Build-It-Back program.
    Mayor Bill de Blasio unveiled a sweeping report Thursday that examined New York City's recovery progress from Superstorm Sandy and promised to reform a much-maligned program that was supposed to rebuild wrecked homes. Speaking to about 50 homeowners, officials and community leaders in a storm-battered Staten Island neighborhood, the mayor said the city is aiming to start rebuilding an ambitious 500 homes through its federally funded Build-It-Back program.
  • Charlie LeDuff: Off The ChainCharlie LeDuff: Off The ChainMore>>

  • Sayonara Bingaling

    Sayonara Bingaling

    Friday, December 13 2013 7:35 PM EST2013-12-14 00:35:18 GMT
    LeDuff: From my perch, I can say Bing was a mayor who preferred to get his nails polished but never dirty.
    LeDuff: From my perch, I can say Bing was a mayor who preferred to get his nails polished but never dirty.
  • LeDuff goes inside massive Detroit Police raid

    LeDuff goes inside massive Detroit Police raid

    Tuesday, December 3 2013 7:57 PM EST2013-12-04 00:57:27 GMT
    On Tuesday, police in Detroit teamed up with Michigan State Police and federal law enforcement officers to conduct a massive raid the size of a city block.
    On Tuesday, police in Detroit teamed up with Michigan State Police and federal law enforcement officers to conduct a massive raid the size of a city block.
  • Is this the crest of dawn in this thing we call a city?

    Is this the crest of dawn in this thing we call a city?

    Friday, November 8 2013 6:12 PM EST2013-11-08 23:12:53 GMT
    LeDuff: Darkness Rules. And then on a corner of a street called Crusade, a case of what should be considered normal becomes the extraordinary:a streetlight gets repaired. And the curtains get pulled back from the iron door.
    LeDuff: Darkness Rules. And then on a corner of a street called Crusade, a case of what should be considered normal becomes the extraordinary: a streetlight gets repaired. And the curtains get pulled back from the iron door.
Powered by WorldNow
Didn't find what you were looking for?
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Fox Television Stations, Inc. and Worldnow. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Ad Choices